hide menuhide menu CA Logo hide menuhide menu

Home > Press > News
CA Logo

Chris Clarke won the Bowdon Weekend

[<<] [>>] by Ian Lines at Bowdon
4-5 June 2005 (AC)

The Bowdon June Advanced Weekend (The Peterson Cup) was won by Chris Clarke who beat Colin Irwin in the final (+26tp, -17, +26tp, +4tp). Chris commented afterwards that it was his 'first error free tournament'.

The consolation Egyptian Event was won by Jonathan Kirby, beating Ian Lines in the deciding game. Also of note was Martin Granger-Brown's first ever triple peel at Bowdon, and Jenny Williams having 6 tps in her 7/9 wins.

Richard Griffiths earned a handicap reduction from 3½ to 3.

Photos may be found at www.bowdoncroquet.co.uk/

As usual, the Bowdon lawns were first rate, as was the catering (courtesy of that renowned chef John Saxby and his band of helpers).

Thank you to Chris Williams for having included all the results already in the rankings (Chris Clarke is now world number 1 in terms of index - 2719).

First Round

David Maugham beat John Wastell +17
Colin Irwin beat Mike Sandler +24tp
Ian Lines beat Sylvia Steer +22tp
Jonathan Kirby beat Richard Griffiths +26
Jenny Williams beat Martin G-Brown +17tp
Chris Clarke beat Mike Steer +26tp
Brian Fisk beat Peter Taylor +3
Ken Cooper beat Brian Storey +6

Quarter Finals

Jonathan Kirby beat Jenny Williams +26tp
Colin Irwin beat Ian Lines +8tp
Chris Clarke beat Ken Cooper +26tp
David Maugham beat Brian Fisk +25

Semi Finals (Best of 3)

Chris Clarke beat Jonathan Kirby +24tp, +26tp
Colin Irwin beat David Maugham -13, +18, +26tp

Final (Best of 5)

Chris Clarke beat Colin Irwin +26tp, -17, +26tp, +4tp

Consolation Egyptian

Martin G-Brown beat Mike Sandler +10
Richard Griffiths beat Sylvia Steer +20
John Wastell beat Mike Steer +16
Jenny Williams beat Mike Sandler +19
Ian Lines beat Richard Griffiths +22
Brian Storey beat Peter Taylor +3
Jonathan Kirby beat Ken Cooper +24tp
Martin G-Brown beat Sylvia Steer +25
Jenny Williams beat Ken Cooper +22tp
Ian Lines beat Martin G-Brown +26tp
John Wastell beat Brian Fisk +2
Mike Sandler beat Mike Steer +3
Richard Griffiths beat Brian Storey +17
Peter Taylor beat Sylvia Steer +22
Jonathan Kirby beat Martin G-Brown +26tp
Jenny Williams beat Brian Fisk +23tp
Jenny Williams beat Richard Griffiths +25tp
Brian Storey beat John Wastell +23
Jonathan Kirby beat David Maugham +17tp
Brian Fisk beat Mike Sandler +9
Ken Cooper beat Peter Taylor +5
Ian Lines beat Jenny Williams +8
Brian Storey beat Martin G-Brown +8
Richard Griffiths beat John Wastell +11
Ken Cooper beat Brian Fisk +26
Peter Taylor beat Mike Sandler +6
Jonathan Kirby beat Ian Lines +16tp
Jenny Williams beat John Wastell +20tp
Brian Storey beat Brian Fisk +16
Sylvia Steer beat Mike Steer +3
Martin G-Brown beat Richard Griffiths +23tp
Colin Irwin beat Ken Cooper +4
Ian Lines beat Mike Sandler +25tp
Jenny Williams beat Mike Steer +18tp
Jonathan Kirby beat Peter Taylor +8tp

Chris Clarke 7/8 (7 tps)
Jonathan Kirby 7/9 (6 tps)
Jenny Williams 7/9 (6 tps)
Ian Lines 5/7 (3 tps)
Colin Irwin 6/10 (3 tps)
Brian Storey 4/6
David Maugham 3/6
Ken Cooper 3/7
Martin G-Brown 3/7 (1 tp)
Richard Griffiths 3/7
Peter Taylor 2/6
John Wastell 2/6
Brian Fisk 2/7
Sylvia Steer 1/5
Mike Sandler 1/7
Mike Steer 0/5


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. The Croquet Association is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the CA Office.