Croquet England Logo

Marilyn Robinson wins Wrest Park GC B-Level

[<<] [>>] by Richard Keighley
21st August 2020 (GC)

A full field of 16 players looked anxiously skywards as they made their way to their group bases for the start of the tournament. When would the downpour arrive?

4 groups of 4 players contested the morning session on an all-play-all basis. In 3 of the groups, the top seeds prevailed. David Cornes (3) of Crake Valley and Aston Wade (3) of Hamptworth won all their games and Peter Adams (3) of Caversham held off the challenge of Simon Draper on hoop count. However, the final group produced a surprise winner in Marilyn Robinson (6) of Northampton and Wrest Park pipping Gill Hindshaw (4) of Beckford by a single hoop after Bridget Goodman(3) of Ealing failed to find her best form.

The anticipated cloudburst arrived in the early afternoon but not before Aston had defeated David (7-2) in the Winners mini-league. When play resumed, Aston beat Peter (7-3) but Marilyn continued to defy her handicap by beating both Peter (7-6) and David (7-3). Her clearances were consistent and convincing from a range of distances.

These results meant that the winner of the tournament would be decided on the final game between Aston and Marilyn. Aston, an excellent 18 year-old prospect, had impressed all with his skilful shot-making but found himself facing the challenge of an experienced player on peak form. At 3-3, it was difficult to pick a winner but Marilyn's relentless clearing put pressure on Aston's positional play and she moved to a 6-3 lead. To his dismay, Marilyn put her next ball in the jaws of Hoop 10 from afar, and his attempted distanced jump shots did not succeed. It was a victory and a day to remember for her (as well as an estimated 70 points on her card) but also a pleasure for all participants to watch Aston in action and to appreciate what a fine young player he was likely to become.

Manager, Richard Keighley warmly congratulated both players and presented them with engraved glasses. He in turn was grateful to his fellow members John Bevington, George Collin and Peter Aspinall for their help in staging the tournament.

Finishing Order:

  1. Marilyn Robinson
  2. Aston Wade
  3. David Cornes
  4. Peter Adams


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.