Croquet England Logo

Watford C-Level Series Result. Held 27 April 2021

[<<] [>>] by Geoff Johnson at Watford
6 May 2021 (GC)

What was, I think, the first C-level series tournament of the season was held in glorious weather at Watford CC on 27th April 2021.

The field of 16 played in a Covid- compliant format of 4 morning blocks of 4, with all-play-all.
This was followed in the afternoon with 4 more all-play-all blocks formed from results in the morning blocks.

The standard of play was consistently high, and the 4 contestants in the "winners block" had fought hard to get there. In the end the crucial game proved to be between the winner and the runner-up, and whilst Kevin Connolly appeared to run away with this with a 7-1 victory over Naomi Whitehead, all watching agreed the score did not reflect the actual contest!

Never-the-less, Kevin Connolly ran out as the worthy winner of the first Watford Open C-level, with 6 wins out of 6.
Naomi Whitehead was 2nd, and Stephen Webb 3rd.

I am sure all present would agree this was a splendid day's croquet, played in competitive but friendly and enjoyable fashion.

Players & handicaps:

Anthony Peperell (7)
Max Crome (9)
Andrew Jackson (10)
Allan Henderson (10)
Kevin Connolly (7)
Celeste Gee (8)
Anthony Hardwicke (5)*
Patricia Mulcahy (11)
Stephen Webb (7)
Edward Gee (8)
Steve Morton (10)
Fraser Creighton (12)
Stuart Stafford (8)
Christine Searle (8)
Naomi Whitehead (9)
Hazel Archer (11)

*Anthony Hardwicke played at short notice to replace an entrant who did not

turn up on the day. Since his handicap was below the allowed minimum his

results are excluded from the national C-level series.


Block A

Anthony Peperell beat Max Crome 7-4
Allan Henderson beat Andrew Jackson 7-3
Andrew Jackson beat Anthony Peperell 7-4
Allan Henderson beat Max Crome 7-4
Allan Henderson beat Anthony Peperell 7-6
Andrew Jackson beat Max Crome 7-6

Block B

Kevin Connolly beat Celeste Gee 7-3
Anthony Hardwicke beat Patricia Mulcahy 7-4
Kevin Connolly beat Anthony Hardwicke 7-3
Celeste Gee beat Patricia Mulcahy 7-6
Kevin Connolly beat Patricia Mulcahy 7-3
Anthony Hardwicke beat Celeste Gee 7-2

Block C

Stephen Webb beat Edward Gee 7-3
Steve Morton beat Fraser Creighton 7-6
Stephen Webb beat Steve Morton 7-5
Fraser Creighton beat Edward Gee 7-5
Stephen Webb beat Fraser Creighton 7-3
Edward Gee beat Steve Morton 7-1

Block D

Stuart Stafford beat Christine Searle 7-6
Naomi Whitehead beat Hazel Archer 7-2
Naomi Whitehead beat Stuart Stafford 7-3
Hazel Archer beat Christine Searle 7-5
Stuart Stafford beat Hazel Archer 7-4
Naomi Whitehead beat Christine Searle 7-1

Block winners

Stephen Webb beat Allan Henderson 7-6
Kevin Connolly beat Naomi Whitehead 7-1
Naomi Whitehead beat Allan Henderson 7-6
Kevin Connolly beat Stephen Webb 7-5
Kevin Connolly beat Allan Henderson 7-2
Naomi Whitehead beat Stephen Webb 7-5

Block runners-up

Andrew Jackson beat Anthony Hardwicke 7-6
Stuart Stafford beat Edward Gee 7-3
Stuart Stafford beat Andrew Jackson 7-6
Anthony Hardwicke beat Edward Gee 7-0
Andrew Jackson beat Edward Gee 7-4
Anthony Hardwicke beat Stuart Stafford 7-6

Block 3rd places

Anthony Peperell beat Fraser Creighton 7-5
Celeste Gee beat Hazel Archer 7-6
Anthony Peperell beat Hazel Archer 7-5
Fraser Creighton beat Celeste Gee 7-3
Anthony Peperell beat Celeste Gee 7-3
Hazel Archer beat Fraser Creighton 7-4

Block 4th places

Max Crome beat Christine Searle 7-2
Steve Morton beat Patricia Mulcahy 7-4
Max Crome beat Patricia Mulcahy 7-2
Steve Morton beat Christine Searle 7-2
Steve Morton beat Max Crome 7-6
Patricia Mulcahy beat Christine Searle 7-5

Tournament winner: Kevin Connolly


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.