Croquet England Logo

Wrest Park GC C-Level Tournament (National Series)

[<<] [>>] by Richard Keighley at Wrest Park
28th May 2021 (GC)

Carol Jamieson wins Wrest Park GC C-Level

This tournament usually attracts an interesting mix of improving players and those who are making their debut in competitive play outside of their own clubs and this year was no exception. On 26th May, the miserable weather of the month was finally breaking and players enjoyed dry and mainly sunny conditions until the cloud cover returned in the afternoon.

The field of 16 players was divided into blocks of 4 on an all play all basis. Winners of all their 3 games in the morning session were Tony Meredith (Wrest Park), Stuart Stafford (St. Albans), and Bill Ironside (Leighton-Linslade). They were joined in the knockout by Pamela Dawson (Gainsborough), Rose Gillett (Leighton-Linslade), Karen Gray (Wingrave), Sheila Haggett (Letchworth) and Carol Jamieson (Caversham) with 2 wins apiece.

It was difficult to pick a winner at the half-way stage. In the Quarter Finals, Tony beat Rose (7-4), Stuart beat Pam (7-3), but Sheila did well to account for Bill (7-4) and Carol and Karen had a very keenly contested game before Carol won (7-6). Her success continued into the Semi-Final when her consistently good approach play and clearances were matched by improved hoop running to bring her the reward of a win against Stuart (7-6). In the other Semi-Final, Tony beat Sheila (7-5).

The Final was notable for the speed in which it was played. Tony and Carol took it in turns to run hoops with accurate play and it was no surprise that the golden hoop was needed to separate them. After less than 25 minutes, Carol ran the hoop to win her first tournament at C-level to her obvious delight.

The Plate Final was won by George Savage (Wrest Park) against Alan Gray (Wingrave). It was also good to note that every participant had won at least one game during the day.

Carol was presented with an engraved glass to mark her win and she was kind enough to thank the members of the host club who had been responsible for the preparation and management of the event.

Finishing Order: 1. Carol Jamieson 2. Anthony Meredith 3. Stuart Stafford 4. Sheila Haggett


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.