Croquet England Logo

Mike Grossmith won the Watford C-Level GC

[<<] [>>] by Simon Hathrell at Watford
2nd May 2023 (GC)

With some unexpected rain the morning session had three groups with clear winners and runners up. In the remaining group 3 players were tied on just one win with Carol Huntington progressing on net hoops.

After the first knockout session in the afternoon none of the top 6 seeds contested the semi-finals, in which Carol beat Georgie Jones - a late stand-in (who ended up losing only one game all day), and Mike Grossmith beat Helen Essa playing in her first tournament.

In the Final Carol took a 5-2 lead, but Mike rallied back to get 6-5 up. Having run hoop 11 his ball had finished in front of hoop 12 but Carol put a ball full length into the jaws. Mike could have attempted the jump but settled for being first up to the golden hoop, though put his first ball short of 13. After a tussle, Carol had first shot hitting the hoop from a yard at an angle but Mike made no mistake with a straight shot from a similar distance to win it.

Jane Probitts won the Plate, also contesting her first tournament.

Players & handicaps:

Anne Dennis (8)
Carol Huntington (11)
Georgie Jones (11)
Gillian Baverstock (14)
Helen Essa (14)
Hilary Cowley (16)
Jane Probitts (11)
John Suckling (12)
Kevin Currie (8)
Kevin Ward (7)
Mark Baverstock (12)
Mike Grossmith (9)
Rob Eagle (10)
Ron Hibbs (7)
Ruth Raunkiaer (11)
Sebnem Kaya (12)


Block A
Anne Dennis beat John Suckling 7-5
Hilary Cowley beat Jane Probitts 7-5
Anne Dennis beat Jane Probitts 7-5
John Suckling beat Hilary Cowley 7-3
Jane Probitts beat John Suckling 7-5
Hilary Cowley beat Anne Dennis 7-6

Block B
Kevin Ward beat Mike Grossmith 7-5
Ruth Raunkiaer beat Gillian Baverstock 7-2
Kevin Ward beat Ruth Raunkiaer 7-3
Mike Grossmith beat Gillian Baverstock 7-5
Kevin Ward beat Gillian Baverstock 7-4
Mike Grossmith beat Ruth Raunkiaer 7-5

Block C
Ron Hibbs beat Carol Huntington 7-4
Sebnem Kaya beat Rob Eagle 7-6
Ron Hibbs beat Rob Eagle 7-5
Carol Huntington beat Sebnem Kaya 7-0
Ron Hibbs beat Sebnem Kaya 7-1
Rob Eagle beat Carol Huntington 7-6

Block D
Georgie Jones beat Mark Baverstock 7-6
Helen Essa beat Kevin Currie 7-6
Georgie Jones beat Kevin Currie 7-6
Helen Essa beat Mark Baverstock 7-3
Georgie Jones beat Helen Essa 7-5
Mark Baverstock beat Kevin Currie 7-6

Georgie Jones beat Hilary Cowley 7-4
Carol Huntington beat Kevin Ward 7-4
Mike Grossmith beat Ron Hibbs 7-5
Helen Essa beat Anne Dennis 7-3
Carol Huntington beat Georgie Jones 7-5
Mike Grossmith beat Helen Essa 7-4
Kevin Ward beat Hilary Cowley 7-0
Anne Dennis beat Ron Hibbs 7-3
Mike Grossmith beat Carol Huntington 7-6
Georgie Jones beat Helen Essa 7-6
Kevin Ward beat Anne Dennis 7-5
Ron Hibbs beat Hilary Cowley 7-6

Jane Probitts beat Mark Baverstock 7-3
Ruth Raunkiaer beat Sebnem Kaya 7-4
Rob Eagle beat Gillian Baverstock 7-5
Kevin Currie beat John Suckling 7-6
Jane Probitts beat Ruth Raunkiaer 7-5
Kevin Currie beat Rob Eagle 7-3
Sebnem Kaya beat Mark Baverstock 7-3
Gillian Baverstock beat John Suckling 7-6
Jane Probitts beat Kevin Currie 7-5
Rob Eagle beat Ruth Raunkiaer 7-2
Sebnem Kaya beat Gillian Baverstock 7-4
John Suckling beat Mark Baverstock 7-2

Tournament winner: Mike Grossmith
Plate winner: Jane Probitts


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.