Croquet England Logo

Croquet England President's wish for nominations for awards to be given in 2024

[<<] [>>]

picturePatricia Duke-Cox presenting Most Improved Player Award

by Alison Maugham
17th April (Other News)

The AGM in March gave me the opportunity at the end to urge members to send in their suggestions for awards: for those who help maintain the running of clubs, federations and the national governing body, along with those who coach or improve their croquet handicaps or grades rapidly. There are also awards for clubs. However, with only 70 attending I want to extend the invitation to all associates to consider.

At the start of this year's season, I was pleased to be playing in the Easter Handicap at Cheltenham where the two most improved male players in AC and GC were also playing. This gave me the opportunity to present them with their trophies personally. The February Gazette (Issue 407, page 14) detailed their achievements and now I can share photos of the presentation of the Apps Memorial Bowl to David Fuller and the Spiers Trophy to Dominic Aarvold.

The Major Awards for individuals are the Council Medal and the Bernard Neal Award, both for exceptional contributions to croquet or in recognition of outstanding service. Normally a submission is required to the March meeting of the Board of Trustees, but an extension is permissible this year because of the transition to Croquet England. Any nominations, in confidence and of no more than 500 words, should be received by the Office by 14 June 2024.

Honorary members and Vice-Presidents can also be nominated to the Awards Panel. The Panel consists of three members who would be glad to hear from members as good candidates might not be known to them.

Diplomas are awarded to individuals nominated by their club or federation and can only be awarded once. Nominations, of not more than 300 words, should be submitted to the Office by the end of July for consideration by the Awards Panel. Just occasionally they may be declined if felt to be of insufficient merit.

Awards for coaching and playing achievements are made by the Coaching and Handicap committees, with nominations closing on 31st October. Do let them know of upcoming talent in your club or federation.

In addition to the above, clubs can seek recognition for development or major improvements to their club over a period of three years in one of three categories relating to the size of the club. These will next be awarded is 2025. They are the Townsend, Apps-Heley and Millennium awards, each attracting a £500 award along with a plaque.

The website has a section devoted to Awards and I urge members to check it out. See

I look forward to hearing from you. Patricia


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.