Croquet England Logo

Southwell CC's First Competition

[<<] [>>]

pictureTrent Valley Trophy finalists 2024 - Andrew Grant, John Palframan, Veronica Savill and Tom Dewar

by Linda Hammond at Southwell Croquet Club
8th July (Club News)

Thanks to a grant awarded by the Croquet Association in 2023 for an automated watering system, the lawns at Southwell CC have much improved and it was decided that we could now run a competition open to other Clubs in the East Midlands Federation. So we set out about creating the inaugural Trent Valley Trophy event. On Saturday, 8 June, despite less than seasonal weather to start, the day eventually ended with warmth and sunshine. Twelve doubles from various Clubs around the East Midlands took part each playing five games in two blocks and after seven hours of competitive play the winners of the two blocks played a final. Block A winners were Andrew Grant and John Palframan from Woodhall Spa and Block B winners were Veronica Savill and Tom Dewar from Nottingham. A very entertaining final followed with Andrew Grant and John Palframan becoming the overall winners of the Trophy. Thank you to everyone, players and helpers alike, who were involved because the whole day was full of fair play, competitiveness, friendliness and fun. Roll on 2025.


Disclaimer: The opinions expressed on this news web page are those of the Editor and contributors. Croquet England is not responsible for statements other than those clearly identified as being made on its behalf. The full editorial policy is available online. The Web News Editor is the Croquet England Office.