About Us
Play
Compete
Subscribers
News
Home
Shop
Help
Home
Log In
GC Rules Quiz
Home
Games
Association
Laws
Laws Qn A
www.croquet.org.uk/?Service=LawsQuiz,RulesQuiz,Quiz
Quiz has been updated - your record has been reset
Question 111
Side A's Red ball is offside after Side B has lawfully run the hoop in order with their Blue ball. Side B's Black ball is also offside. Side A plays Red ball immediately, trusting Side B has not noticed that it is offside. Red ball runs the hoop in order and Side A claims the hoop point. Side B then protests that the Red ball was offside, which Side A accepts but believes that the opportunity to direct the offside ball has passed. You are called on as a referee to identify what should happen.
Answer
As the Red ball has been played there is no entitlement for Side B to direct it to a Penalty Area. However Side A also cannot give an Offside Direction for the Black Ball.
The stroke with the Red ball is Annulled and Black is to be played next. Although they have had a stroke Annulled, Side A can give an Offside direction to the Black ball.
Side A has played Red ball when not entitled, so their stroke is Annulled and they are given the opportunity to play Red again.
Side B is given the option to give an Offside Direction for Red.
I don't know - show me the answer
Link to this question